Skip to main content
← All guides

Which Server Software Each Plugin Runs On

By , the developer behind these plugins ·

Every plugin here states Paper and Spigot. Exactly two say anything about Folia, and only one mentions Purpur. That gap is the point of this page: server software is a per-plugin fact, not a catalogue-wide promise, and the answer for your server depends on which plugin you are looking at. This is all fifteen in one table, with the proxy and Bedrock notes each record carries and the places they say nothing at all.

Paper and Spigot are the baseline, and two plugins go further

Ask the question the way a server owner actually asks it — will this run on my server — and the answer starts the same way for everything in this catalogue. All fifteen records list Paper and Spigot, and each product page states it in its own words: Advanced Crates says "Spigot and Paper 1.8 through 26.2, every subversion in between", GUIPlus says "Spigot and Paper 1.16 through 26.2", InfiniteShops says "Spigot and Paper 1.13 through 26.2". The Minecraft range moves from plugin to plugin. Those two names do not.

Two plugins list more than that, and they are the reason this page exists. LPC Pro lists Paper, Purpur, Folia and Spigot. AntiAFKPlus, which is free, lists Paper, Spigot and Folia. The other thirteen list Paper and Spigot and stop there — including the free LPC, which runs as far back as 1.7.10.

Read a name that is missing as unstated, not as broken. Nothing in these records says a plugin fails on Purpur or on any other Paper fork; they simply do not claim it, and this page will not claim it on their behalf. If a particular fork is a hard requirement on your server, the honest answer for thirteen of the fifteen is that the record does not say.

Folia: two plugins state it, thirteen say nothing

AntiAFKPlus is the specific one. Its product page answers the Folia question outright: the plugin detects Folia at start-up and switches to region-aware scheduling, so per-player checks run on the correct region thread, teleports use the async teleport APIs, and tasks go through the entity scheduler rather than the global one. Nothing to configure — the jar declares folia-supported: true. The on-site detection docs make the same three points, describe Folia as Paper's regionized multithreading server, and the warning-stage teleport action notes that it uses async teleportation on Folia and Paper for cross-region compatibility. No other record in the catalogue describes its Folia behaviour in that detail, and this one belongs to a free plugin.

LPC Pro also lists Folia, and its Compatibility tab is the only one on the site that breaks the list down fork by fork: Paper marked "Recommended", Purpur "Full support", Folia "Native scheduler", with BungeeCord and Velocity listed underneath for proxy chat sync. One caveat is worth stating before you buy on that basis. The requirements page, imported from the plugin's own wiki, gives server software as "Paper (recommended) or Spigot" and does not mention Folia or Purpur anywhere. The two surfaces disagree in scope, so if regionized scheduling is your deciding factor, ask before you buy rather than reading the pill as a test result.

For the remaining thirteen — the three crate plugins, the crate pack, the shop, the farming, fishing and vehicle plugins, GUIPlus, LPC and the add-ons — no record mentions Folia at all. The site-wide FAQ is scoped the same way on purpose: it answers "does it work on Folia?" with "it depends on the plugin" and sends you to the per-product panel, instead of making one promise on behalf of a catalogue where the answer differs.

Every plugin, and the server software its record lists

Server software below is the record's own list, in the order the record gives it, and the Minecraft ranges are copied from the same records. The last column is wider: it also draws on the plugin's own documentation where we host it, because two plugins document proxy behaviour there and nowhere else. "Not stated" means exactly that — neither the record nor the docs say anything about proxies or Bedrock clients for that plugin, which is not the same as saying it does not work.

Server software and Minecraft range as each product record states them; proxy and Bedrock notes from the record or, where marked, the plugin's own documentation.
PluginServer softwareMinecraftProxy / Bedrock
LPC ProPaper, Purpur, Folia, Spigot1.17-26.2BungeeCord and Velocity sync; Bedrock via Geyser
AntiAFKPlus (free)Paper, Spigot, Folia1.7-26.2BungeeCord and Velocity AFK sync; Bedrock sensitivity setting
InfiniteShopsPaper, Spigot1.13-26.2MySQL cross-server sync; Bedrock not stated
GUIPlusPaper, Spigot1.16-26.2Server click event across BungeeCord and Velocity (docs only)
InfiniteFishingPaper, Spigot1.17-26.2Geyser-Spigot with per-minigame platform filtering
Advanced CratesPaper, Spigot1.8-26.2Not stated
SpecializedCratesPaper, Spigot1.8-26.2Not stated
Crates & Keys PackPaper, Spigot1.8-26.2Not stated
InfiniteCratesPaper, Spigot1.20.6-26.2Not stated
InfiniteCropsPaper, Spigot1.17-26.2Not stated
InfiniteCropsRegions (free)Paper, Spigot1.17-26.2Not stated
InfiniteVehiclesPaper, Spigot1.19.4-26.2Not stated
InfiniteVehicles Premium PackPaper, Spigot1.19.4-26.2Not stated
InfiniteVehiclesBuilder (free)Paper, Spigot1.19.4-26.2Not stated
LPC (free)Paper, Spigot1.7.10-26.2Not stated

Where Paper and Spigot actually pull apart

Listing both does not mean the two behave identically, and LPC Pro is the one plugin here whose documentation says where the difference lands. Its requirements page recommends Paper over Spigot for a concrete reason: the plugin draws its formatting from the Adventure API — MiniMessage, hex colours, gradients, click actions, hover tooltips — which Paper includes natively while Spigot needs a compatibility layer. Everything below is from that plugin's own docs, and it is the only plugin in the catalogue with statements this specific.

  • Chat eventsThe developer docs state LPC Pro uses Paper's AsyncChatEvent on Paper servers and falls back to Spigot's AsyncPlayerChatEvent on Spigot.
  • Server links need Paper 1.21+The ESC-menu links feature uses Paper's ServerLinks API, and the docs say it will not be available on Spigot or on older Paper versions.
  • Chat bubbles need 1.19.4+The record says chat bubbles require 1.19.4+ because TextDisplay entities were not available earlier; the docs page for the feature states Paper 1.19.4+.
  • Everything elseNo other record names a feature that needs Paper specifically — where a plugin lists Paper and Spigot, it states no difference between them.

Networks: a proxy and a shared database are not the same thing

Multi-server support means two different things in this catalogue, and confusing them is an easy way to buy the wrong plugin. One is proxy messaging: the plugin talks across BungeeCord or Velocity. The other is a shared database: several servers read and write one MySQL store. Three records state one or the other, and they are specific about which; a fourth plugin documents proxy support only in its own documentation.

LPC Pro is proxy-based — BungeeCord and Velocity cross-server sync is built in, and the proxy docs list what travels: channels, private messages, mutes and announcements, each toggled in integration/proxy.yml, with a unique server-name per server and plugin messaging enabled on the proxy. AntiAFKPlus is proxy-based too: cross-server AFK sync works out of the box with BungeeCord and Velocity, so a player's AFK status follows them across the network. GUIPlus is the narrower case — it registers the BungeeCord plugin messaging channel automatically when the plugin starts, and its server click event sends a player to another server, provided spigot.yml has BungeeCord mode enabled and the server name matches the one in the proxy config (BungeeCord support).

InfiniteShops is the database case. Connect several servers to the same MySQL database and limited stock, limited-sell quotas, dynamic prices and Daily Shop purchase limits stay consistent network-wide, survive a restart, and cannot be dodged by hopping servers. It is disabled by default, so single-server setups keep working exactly as before. That is one authoritative state shared through MySQL, not proxy messaging, and the record describes it as such. GUIPlus is the docs-only case: its record says nothing about networks, while its BungeeCord support page documents a Server click event that moves players between servers on a BungeeCord or Velocity network. For the other eleven plugins, neither the record nor any documentation states network behaviour at all.

Bedrock players arriving through Geyser

Crossplay gets asked as though it were one question, and three records answer it — each about its own feature, and each in a different way.

  • AntiAFKPlusBedrock clients send less precise head-rotation data, so the plugin identifies them by username prefix (default ".") and multiplies the rotation threshold by a sensitivity factor (default 0.8) — a 3.0 threshold becomes 2.4 — so crossplay servers do not get false AFK kicks. Both bedrock-prefix and bedrock-sensitivity are config values.
  • InfiniteFishingGeyser-Spigot is supported with per-minigame platform filtering: a minigame can be made Java-only, Bedrock-only, or both.
  • LPC ProGeyser is listed among its integrations for Bedrock players. Its requirements page files Geyser and Floodgate under optional dependencies — nothing about the plugin needs them — but both must be installed for that integration to do anything, because Floodgate provides the API the detection uses.

Where to check, and what these records do not say

Every product page carries a Tech specs panel in the sidebar whose first row is Server software, rendered from the same serverSoftware list the table above quotes — so the pills you see there and the row you read here cannot drift apart. The Compatibility tab on each product page always shows that plugin's Minecraft range; the longer breakdown with a note beside each fork is defined only on LPC Pro today, which is why this page had to be written from fifteen records rather than fifteen tabs.

Two things this page deliberately does not tell you. It says nothing about Purpur beyond LPC Pro, because no other record names Purpur. And it says nothing about Bukkit or any other fork: the InfiniteShops documentation is the only place on the site that goes wider, with the install page giving server software as "Spigot, Paper, or any fork", while the record itself lists Paper and Spigot. Only four plugins have on-site docs at all, and those docs are the only place in the product documentation a Java version appears — Java 17 or higher on the InfiniteShops install page and the GUIPlus troubleshooting page, Java 16 or higher for LPC Pro with Java 17+ recommended for Paper 1.18+. For the other twelve plugins, including AntiAFKPlus, the only statement is the general one in the terms of service, which gives Java 17 or later for the catalogue as a whole — a version above what the LPC Pro documentation asks for, so check that plugin's own page if you are on Java 16.

If your real question is the Minecraft version rather than the fork, the version support guide sorts the catalogue by how far back each plugin reaches. If it is what else you have to install first, that is the plugin dependencies guide. And if Folia is the constraint you are buying against, the shortlist is two plugins: one in the chat category and one in utilities, the second of which is on the free plugins page.

Related plugins

LPC Pro
AI moderation, MiniMessage, Discord, chat bubbles, games & more — one chat plugin.
AntiAFKPlus
Configurable AFK detection with actions, permissions, and PlaceholderAPI.
InfiniteShops
Seven shop types in one jar — GUI, daily shop, auctions, NPC vendors, sign shops, frame shops.
GUIPlus
Complete GUI editing suite. In-game editor, animations, conditions, events — no YAML required.
InfiniteFishing
6 interactive fishing minigames with tournaments and 16 enchants.

More guides on these plugins

Paper, Spigot & Folia Plugin Support [Compared] | InfinitePlugins